top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Sunrise at Bald Rock

Towards the beginning of October, me and several other friends decided to go watch the sunrise at Bald Rock. We got there about 6:45 and had time to find a good spot and slowly watch the sunrise. We brought tea to stay warm, but thankfully the weather hadn't gotten too cold yet. We read some poetry and Psalms and just enjoyed some time outside. The whole month was beautiful with the leaves turning colors, and we had a beautiful view of all the trees from the rock.


A week or so later, I decided to start a drawing based on a photo of us watching the sunrise. It had been a while since I had done any art outside of projects for art classes, so it was good to have something to work on for fun. It took me a while since I didn't have time to consistently work on it, but I finally finished!


I used pastels to get the vibrant colors of the sunrise. Pastels also blend very smoothly, which would be good for blending the colors of the sky into each other. I worked on orange paper to give an overall warm tone wherever the paper shows through. I also avoided pure black to keep it more colorful and brighter. So instead, I created the shadows using mixes of purple, blue, and brown. I generally worked back to front since it can be hard to get precise lines with pastels, so I didn't want to fill in the background around the details.



Here's the finished piece!



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page