top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Story of the Semester

Just before Thanksgiving break, I finished what might be my favorite project of the semester for Design I - a book of lines. The idea was to have 12 chapters, with a different type of line displayed in each one. We also had to make and bind the book.

The topic was up to us, so I decided to make it an overview of my favorite things from the semester. It took way longer than I expected - I spent a lot of time simply deciding what to put in the book. Then I had to cut and fold the pages. After that I penciled in the designs, chapter headings, and table of contents, then spent several hours going over it in pen. Then I painted the covers and bound the book using thread and a Coptic binding method. But, I now have a work of art with memories that I can physically flip through and show others. One of my friends got so excited reading through it and said she felt like it just took her back through the whole first semester. I think I accomplished my mission!


In progress...


Final product...


We still have two last projects we're working on before the semester ends next week, but this was a great one to start wrapping up the semester with. I love how it turned out and am excited to have something to show people who ask about my first semester of college! It's been a great semester, and I'm so thankful for all my friends and teachers who have been a part of it!



50 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page