top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Lettering and Calligraphy

Even though it almost never turns into a big project like some of my other artwork, lettering is another form of art that I enjoy doing for fun. It's a great way to capture or remember quotes and verses that jump out at me. There's so many different combinations of fonts, layouts, and decorations to try out, and I love seeing how I can connect those elements to the meaning.


One fun design from a couple years ago had a phrase in the shape of a fish.

I really like the fonts in this one, especially the bolder one. It seems to give that watery, flowing feel.


I've also done lettering of several verses in the past year or so.

The wording of this one worked out really nicely to have the smaller words along the sides and the main words as the focus down the center. I also had a symmetry in the fonts from top to bottom.


I enjoyed trying out different lines, decorations, and ways of breaking up the space in this one.


To connect the style to the meaning, I made the "boldly" in very dark, bold letters. I also wrote "reliance" as if it was leaning on "Lord", to which I added a brick texture to show His steadiness and reliability.


I really love this song. I gave "stars" the look of a starry night sky, made the thunder big and bold, spread out the word "throughout", and added a star to "universe" in keeping with the theme.


I also made up my own font a couple months ago. It includes double lines and loops at the bottom of some letters.


With that font, I wrote out this verse.

This one is pretty simple, but I wanted the "hold" to look as if it was holding up another word, so I curved it up around the "You".


Recently I tried out the blackletter alphabet as well.

It's more complex than any of the other fonts I've done, but it has a really satisfying look to it.


And so with that font, I wrote out this verse last week.

This was part of an art challenge with some friends, and the challenge was to write this verse in blackletter with an illumination. I'd never thought of doing that before, but it's pretty neat.


I also did some lettering with a painted background last year.

I figured a sunrise fit the meaning very well.


And to go all out with colors in lettering, I tried this style last week.

This was a great one to try out an interesting composition and different ways to break up the space. I colored in "laugh" with warm colors to make it look like it was radiating warmth. For "louder", I used big, bold letters and colors to make it, well, look very loud on the paper. With "dream", I used swirly letters and a bluish-purple that makes me think of sleep. I made "bigger" very big, and with it being at an angle, it takes up more space on the paper. I originally thought of adding sprinkles to "sweeter", but I just stuck with pink and purple colors that look sweet. I used the warm colors with "you make me" so that "laugh" didn't have the only warm colors in the page. Lastly, "better" is big since it's also the title of the song.


I really enjoyed doing all of these and finding new fonts, layouts, or styles. They make fun short projects, and I'm excited to see what other designs come to mind.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page