top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Inktober 2020

After hearing about Inktober from some friends and classmates, I decided to try it out last year. I really enjoyed the challenge and seeing what I could come up with each day, so I wanted to continue and do it this year as well!

What is Inktober? It's an art challenge that takes place during the month of October, with a list of prompts for each day. A drawing is then done, usually in some form of ink, based on the prompt for that day. It's a great challenge to just get some art and creativity into each day, even if it's a quick drawing.

For me, Inktober has helped get me out of my comfort zone and draw in different styles and subjects. A lot of times, I prefer a realistic style and use photo references for my artwork, but for Inktober, I generally draw without references. This means that it usually ends up being in a much different style, so I get to practice and experiment in that style more. It also gets me thinking and adding meaning or a story to my art more since it's based off of a word instead of just an image.

Something I like to experiment with in Inktober is drawing people in different positions to practice how they would look. This might be a dancing position, a crawling position, a hand reached out and bent so that it's foreshortened, or sliding headfirst down a waterslide.

I did use reference photos for some of the drawings, either when I wanted to focus on shading practice with pen (such as in Day 11 and Day 18), or when I wanted the drawing to look like someone specifically (such as the Swedish Chef and Buddy the Elf).

And with that, here's all of my Inktober drawings from this year!



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page