top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Daily Drawing - Food Ingredients

This last month I took a week to do themed daily drawings. Unsurprisingly, the theme I chose was food. I wanted it to be food that related to each day, so I thought about drawing or painting my meals. But the thought of quickly trying to draw my meal before I could eat it didn't really sound all that fun...


So I drew the ingredients in my meals! I practiced with pen and watercolor a bit more through this exercise.


January 28, 2022

Oregano + tomato from making pizza for dinner. Meant to add watercolor, but went a bit heavy on the pen. I like the jar though.


January 29, 2022

Buckwheat flour from making buckwheat pancakes for breakfast. Added watercolors the next day.


January 31, 2022

Pepper, garlic, and cashews from making stir fry for dinner. I tried layering complementary colors for some shadows. I like the texture of the garlic.


February 1, 2022

Carrot and spinach from the soup I had for dinner. I tried out some cross-hatching with the pen this time.


February 2, 2022

Onion, jalapeños, ketchup, and an egg from making an omelet for dinner. The onion was fun to paint.



I really enjoyed this series of little studies, and I like how it all looks together. I especially like the colors on the right side of the page with the contrasts of orange/red and green. Picking which ingredients to draw, arranging them, and figuring out the best way to combine pen and watercolor to draw them was a fun process. I got to practice reflective surfaces with the jars, box, and bottle. I got to practice the interesting textures of the onion, oregano, and garlic. I also got to practice creating transparent things like the bag of the buckwheat flour, the splatters of ketchup in the bottle, and the jalapeño juice.


Overall I really enjoyed this project and would like to do another similar series at some point!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page