top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

A Rose from the Garden

I knew North Greenville University's campus was beautiful when I decided to go there. But in the last month of being here, I keep discovering new beautiful things - the morning mist over the mountains with the sun breaking through, the waterfall and fountain on the corner hidden by trees and bushes and flowers with a bench swing tucked away in it, the beautiful sunsets over the hill, the countless stars, all different kinds of cool mushrooms, and beautiful roses in the garden around the gazebo.


This morning I went outside to the gazebo intending to paint some of the mushrooms I had seen. As I walked up, I passed by one of the gardeners pruning the roses. While I was getting my materials out, she came and offered me a beautiful pink rose. I stuck it in the side of my bag of materials and decided to paint that instead.


I sketched it out first, mixed up some purple to paint the shadows, and then went over that with a watered down red, making sure to leave some highlights. I darkened the shadows, then painted in the leaf and stem with blue, green, and yellow.


Here's the finished painting! I enjoyed having a slower morning to paint, listen to music, and sit outside before heading to class. I hope to paint the mushrooms as well when I get the chance. So thankful for the sweet gardener who gave me the rose!



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page